Entry for February 05, 2006

It’s been a pretty exciting week. I couldn’t talk about it until now, for reasons that will become obvious soon :-).

The Blue Jackets have now won a franchise-record 5 games in-a-row. This week they won in Calgary and Edmonton. Both games went to a shootout, and both ended with a final score of 2-1.

Yesterday was “Disappointment Saturday” for me in college basketball. Notre Dame nearly won in Louisville, but the Cards hit a 3 at the buzzer in regulation, and won in overtime by 3. Also, Duke nearly lost at home to Florida State, but pulled it out in overtime. After winning several games, Kentucky lost in Gainesville.

In the Big Ten, a couple of teams that I consider to be “non-contenders” pulled off big wins. Penn State won in Champaign which has to be one of the biggest upsets of the year. Also, PURDUE (Hi Vernon!) beat Wisconsin. Iowa now leads the league.

The Ohio State men beat Minnesota but the UK women lost at home again, this time to Florida.

For sometime I have had my eye out for a vehicle for Bonnie, as her Jeep has 150,000 miles on it. I found a sharp-looking red ’05 Monte Carlo and bought it Thursday. When she arrived to visit me after work on Friday, it was sitting in the driveway, to her complete surprise. I will try to post pictures of it when I get a chance. Her birthday isn’t until July, but I found the car I wanted so she got her gift just a few months early :-).

Leave a Reply

