The end of an era

For many years, probably starting back in the early 80s, I have recorded textbooks (and other written material) for vision-impaired students (and others) through the Accessible Textbook Service (formerly the Lexington Volunteer Recording Unit) at the University of Kentucky.

In addition to retiring from IBM, I have also retired from this work. New technologies such as computer scanners have pretty much obsoleted any need to sit and record cassette tapes. The new systems are much more efficient.

The coordinator of the Accessible Textbook Service calculated based on what records she has (I go back farther with the Service than she does) that I spent about 3000 hours sitting in front of a microphone making tapes. It’s the end of another era for me.

