Golden State Sweep

The Columbus Blue Jackets have arrived back home after a 3-game sweep of the California NHL teams.

It started Wednesday night in Los Angeles as Rick Nash scored the last two goals for a 5-3 win. It was the first home loss of the season for the Kings.

Friday night, the Jackets crossed town and beat Anaheim 4-3. Columbus got outshot 25-3 in the third period but held on. Steve Mason had 47 saves, tying a record.

Finally, Saturday night, Rick Nash had a hat trick as the Jackets beat San Jose 3-0. It was the first regulation win ever for Columbus in San Jose, and the first win of any kind there since 1-8-04. The Sharks hadn’t been shut out at home in over a year.

Since I am an old man who can’t stay up late, I have all three games on tape. I think I will dub them to DVD for my permanent collection.

Since I last posted on November 3, the other main win of note was an 8-1 thrashing of St. Louis. It was the biggest margin of victory in Columbus history.

 

 

 

