Happy Easter all!

I hope all readers have a joyous Easter!

We have had a stretch of stormy weather here, although Bonnie and I have been unaffected so far. There was a tornadic storm that passed through here last night. We monitored the situation closely. As I type this, we are under a tornado watch for the next hour or so.

As most of you know, I am interested in all aspects of radio. A friend of mine in South Dakota mentioned that there is an interesting AM station in Watertown, SD, callsign KWAT, that streams both audio and video from their studios on USTREAM. I have found their morning programming, especially from 7:00-10:30 AM Eastern time particularly interesting and educational about the economy of a rural agricultural area. And, their winter weather can be unbelievable sometimes. Check it out at:

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/kwat-radio

With the increasing sunspots, DX on the higher HF bands has picked up as I’ve mentioned earlier. It has also resulted in shorter skip on 40-meters (7 MHz) making for some nice QSOs on that band. With the house and lot that I have, it is much easier for me to have a good antenna for 40-meters than for 80-meters. Plus, 40 works better for mobile work than 80.

When I can, I check in with the Rotten Apple Group on 7238 in the mornings on the way to work. I have found an interesting afternoon group on 7268 called, not surprisingly, the “68 Group”. Their web site is:

http://68group.net/

After winning 2-of-3 games over Tennessee in the first weekend of SEC baseball, Kentucky has dropped 12-straight conference games coming into this weekend’s series with Arkansas. I have not watched the team in person or on TV so far this year. Not sure what the problem is, but I would not be surprised if a coaching chance occurs after the season ends.

