First two rounds in the books

With a lot of stuff going on lately, I’m way behind updating this blog.

No conference tournament championships for me this year, as Kentucky lost to Vanderbilt 71-64 in the SEC championship game, and Ohio State lost a close one to Michigan State.

It’s been a great NCAA tournament so far, with two #2 seeds losing in the first round. Missouri is a good team, but I noticed that defensive intensity was a bit lacking this year in the Big 12. Having said that, I picked Kansas to make the Final Four. That’s always a risky pick with the Jayhawks propensity to get upset early. North Carolina and Georgetown both look good so far in the Midwest.

I did not see much of Lehigh-Duke but that one is a real head-scratcher, especially with the game being played in Greensboro.

My other Final Four picks are Ohio State, Michigan State and Kentucky. It surprised me that Gonzaga handled West Virginia so easily, and they have the speed to beat my Buckeyes. Kentucky and Michigan State on paper have an easier road now that the #2 seeds in their regions lost. But tough games are ahead for both.

The Kentucky women were seeded #2 in their region and will play McNeese State today. Ohio State was seeded 8th and will play Florida tomorrow in Bowling Green Ohio. Winner gets top seed Baylor.

