Card Checking

One of the great innovations of the last few years for the American Radio Relay League award programs is the establishment of a system of volunteer “card checkers”. These hams can examine QSL cards that you are submitting to apply for an award to verify that they a valid. This prevents hams from having to ship their precious cards to ARRL headquarters for checking.

With a fair amount of time on my hands this Spring, I finally got a chance to get caught up on some award applications. On the VHF bands, there are awards for confirming various numbers of “grid squares” (based on the Maidenhead Locator System http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maidenhead_Locator_System ). On 6 meters (50 MHz) I have confirmed 262 grids, more than enough for the first level of VUCC (VHF/UHF Century Club). On the HF (shortwave) bands, I have a bunch of QSL cards confirming foreign countries on various bands.

Matt, AA4XA who lives near Ashland is a card checker for DXCC. He welcomed me into his home in early June and checked a bunch of cards for me. He then signed the application and mailed it to the ARRL. For VUCC, Ed, N4HID who lives in Bowling Green is a card checker. A couple Sundays ago, Ed was in Shelbyville for a picnic. He was kind enough to meet me and check my cards. The VUCC application was then mailed to ARRL Headquarters.

When the ARRL completes processing the applications, I will be able to apply for several DXCC awards. For VUCC the League will send me a certificate, and then applications for future milestones will be handled online (with most confirmations via Logbook of The World).

