Radio Activities

I’ve had the good fortune to be able to spend a good bit of time lately on ham radio, my favorite hobby. In addition to both the SSB and CW Sweepstakes last month, I also operated the CQ Worldwide CW contest, at QRP power levels (5 watts). December brought the 10-Meter RTTY Contest, very popular in only its second year. This past weekend I operated the ARRL 10-Meter Contest, operating both SSB and CW at QRP power levels.

Nobel Prize winning physicist Joe Taylor, K1JT, the inventor of the digital mode called JT65, also recently introduced JT9, which is optimized for the 160-Meter band and the very low frequency bands below the AM broadcast band that some hams are getting into. I have made a couple contacts with JT9, but in general the lower bands are not my cup of tea.

I use a Morse Code trainer called RufzXP in order to increase my speed in receiving callsigns of other stations. I made a video that demonstrates the program and you can view it here:

