Wrapping Up April

The Blue Jackets made a quick exit in the NHL playoffs, losing to defending Stanley Cup champion Pittsburgh 4 games to 1. Columbus did manage to revive its offense, but goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky wasn’t as good as he was during the regular season, and gave up a lot of goals. It was a good season, and I’m hoping the boys hit the ground running in October when the 2017-2018 season starts.

I’ve always been intrigued by robotic vacuums, but decided to wait until prices came down a bit. I recently acquired a Eufy RoboVac 11 and have found it to work quite well. It’s an amazing piece of engineering. You can find more details here:

RoboVac 11

I added a new ultralight to my radio collection, the Tecsun PL-360. Google it for more information. The main point of interest about this radio is that it has a jack to allow connection of an external antenna for the AM broadcast band. This is unusual among modern portable radios. It’s a great unit to have for anyone who wants to experiment with Ferrite Sleeve Loop or other antennas.

So far this year, I have probably done less ham radio operating than I have in the recent past. A lot of this is due to the generally poor propagation we’ve had as the current sunspot cycle winds down, probably hitting a minimum in the year 2020.

I don’t follow baseball very closely but I understand Kentucky has a good team this year. Very highly rated by the RPI, and they currently lead the SEC East.

